Women’s Soccer Show

Your one stop shop for women’s soccer.

LA Sol win first WPS Match 2-0 over Freedom

Posted by leyrocks on March 30, 2009

p32902182

 

p3290255

 

p3290226

 

p3290234

p3290253

p3290213

 

p3290223

 

p3290229

 

p3290249

p3290224

 

For all women soccer fans March 30, 2009 marked a new day in history. After six long years women’s professional soccer finally returned to the USA.  As a fan and player I was so excited. I was eager to finally watch my hometown team the LA Sol finally take the field, especially Marta. I was so pleased by the crowd turnout of almost 15,000 people. The atmosphere at the HDC was amazing, thanks to the Galaxy and now Sol supporter group Angel City Brigade. If you where at the stadium or watched the game on TV I’m sure you where able to hear us cheer along the Sol. Make sure to come by section 121 and sit with the ACB and cheer the Sol on.

As I check the soccer blogs and forums it seems the two main topics of discussion are:

Did Allison Faulk really score the first goal? Or did she foul Scurry? Well as I watched the replay over and over (even on freeze frame on my DVR) it doesn’t look to me like Faulk touched the ball and she did kind of run into Scurry. However, the ref did not call it so the goal stands period. Even if Faulk’s goal would not have counted I do believe the Sol out played the Freedom and deserved to win.

Almost 15,000 fans for the first match now what? Can it last? Ok now lets be realistic, since it’s the first league match of course their will be more fans that are expected for the rest of the season. WPS goal is about 4,000 – 6,000, which I do think is doable. I do think we will have a bigger picture of how the league is doing and how it will do in about the third season. But I hope their is not a severe drop off in attendance. 

By the way I re-watched the match as I recorded it on my DVR man Miyama was amazing she was all over the place. Marta was Marta, amazing skill. Faulk was a good solid defender. I’m defiantly looking forward to watching Johanna Frisk play in a game, she looked really well in training. 

Leave a Reply

 
